Coffee & Vinyls: Such a Hipster Combo…but Rook Coffee May be a Truly Cool Find

by greatcoffeesusan

A couple weekends ago I was in Brooklyn for a bridal shower.  After the shower the bride-to-be and few of the guests walked around the neighborhood, Carroll Gardens.  We stumbled upon Black Gold Records.  It’s a coffee shop and record store!  Someone mentioned how it’s such a hipster place. The group agreed.

Black Gold Records sources its beans from Rook Coffee Roasters based in Ocean, NJ.  It’s a very young roastery with a sweet story.  We each ordered a cup of the decaf coffee with almond soy milk.  It was not bad at all.  I think it definitely has potential.  I’d like to try the coffee at an actual Rook location before I draw true conclusions though.  I hope to visit them in the near future.  In the meantime if you do, let me know what you think.

